2016: Year in Review

Before I get too deep into this year’s reading and start some new reading challenges, I want to see how I did on last year’s challenges.

Rereading Challenge – I finished rereading the Uplift series and definitely enjoyed myself. I think I’ll revisit another series this year.

New Books Challenge – I only got 6 out of the ten books I wanted to read. What I didn’t foresee was how difficult it would be to find new books in the beginning of the year. It really wasn’t until June that I started seeing books published in 2016 show up in my library. To make it more reasonable, I should have said books published in the past two years. If I include the books published in 2015, that adds another 11 books to the challenge. Apparently, I had no problem reading recently published books this past year.

Reading the Alphabet Challenge: My last book of the year finished the challenge! It’s very satisfying to have read the alphabet in both title and author names.

Maybe 100 This Year Challenge – This was finally the year I made 100! It helps when I include books that I listen to as well as books that I read.

If I consider a revision to the New Books Challenge, I finished all of my reading challenges this year. That has got to be a first!

ETA: this is the first year I’ve used Goodreads, and I didn’t realize they do an end of the year summary. I want to remember these numbers (and I’m not sure I’ll be able to find the page later). If you include all the graphic novels I read (which I don’t usually count toward my book total), I read 39,930 pages last year, which I have to say impresses me. My shortest book was Welcome to the Tribe and my longest book was A Dance With Dragons.

1 Comment

Filed under Activities

One response to “2016: Year in Review

  1. Pingback: From Guestwriters 2016 in review | From guestwriters

What do you think?

