What I Will Be Reading #18

Again, it was a finishing up kind of week. As such, we didn’t use any new books. So, instead of talking about new books we used this week, I’ll be talking about new books I’ve added to my reading list.

I’ll start with Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth. I’d seen the first season of the BBC show and thought it was quite enjoyable. I didn’t realize the show was based on a book, and The Modern Mrs. Darcy was nice enough to bring the series to my attention.

Next was a post from The Hub about strong female characters in fantasy. I’ve read Alanna by Tamora Pierce and added Sabriel (Old Kingdom) by Garth Nix, Tam Lin by Pamela Dean, and Valiant: A Modern Faerie Tale (Modern Faerie Tale) by Holly Black.

The Modern Mrs. Darcy sent me down another rabbit hole today with a link about adults rereading one of their favorite books from when they were a kid and discussing how it was to read as an adult. I’ve read many on the list (although my favorite book as a teen that I reread many times wasn’t mentioned. It was A Ring of Endless Light by Madeleine L’Engle. I recently reread it and loved it all over again.) The one book I wasn’t aware of but sounded most interesting was The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin.

Finally, I’m adding A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan. It’s the first book in the Natural History of Dragons series. She’s got a new one just out called Voyage of the Basilisk: A Memoir by Lady Trent that SF Signal just posted about. The cover shows a basilisk swimming next to a blue whale, and it seems to be written like a Charles Darwin approach to dragons. Color me intrigued and totally drawn in by the cover.

So, anyone read any of these books and want to put a vote in for which to read first?

Leave a comment

Filed under Library books

What do you think?

