Reading Challenges for 2014

I enjoyed the reading challenges I did last year, and thought I’d do some again this year. Many of the challenges I did last year either disappeared or changed, so it’s a mostly new list. Here’s what I have so far:

Personal challenge to read 100 books (audio books don’t count, but children’s chapter books do). I nearly got there this year and I’m going to try again. I’ll call it my 100 Book Challenge of 2014.

alphabet-2014-500Mr. Curiosity and I are going to do another alphabet challenge. I found one hosted by Escape with Dollycas. Miss Adventure already made our chart to hang in the hall. We’ll also be adding an author challenge to the title challenge, but we’ll do them simultaneously instead of sequentially. Much better chance of fulfilling both challenges that way.

IMG_0818Gathering Books changed their award-winning book challenge to a more generic “Check Off Your Reading List” challenge. That’s OK – I’ll still use it to read Pulitzer Prize winners. I’ll try for one book a month, which would get me into the Book Savant range.

And now for some new ones:

global reading challenge 2014_2I’m going to try the Global Reading Challenge managed by Kerrie of Mysteries in Paradise. The premise of this one is to read a book that is set in each of the seven continents. Specifically, Africa, Asia, Australasia/Oceania, Europe, North America, South America (please include Central America where it is most convenient for you) and for the Seventh Continent, you can either choose Antarctica or your own ´seventh´ setting, eg the sea, the space, a supernatural/paranormal world, history, the future – you name it). She also encourages you to try to find a country, state or author that is new to you for your own continent. I’m going to start with the easy challenge of just one from each continent, but we’ll see if I can go higher.

classics2014Finally, I’m doing a Back to the Classics Challenge hosted by Books and Chocolate. (Lovely name for a blog, BTW – that’ll satisfy most of my cravings!) She’s got six categories you have to fulfill to complete the basic challenge, and an additional five optional categories if you want to take it to the next level. The main requirement is the book must be more than 50 years old in order to qualify.

Well, I do think that will be enough challenges for this year to keep me reading for a while!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book review

What do you think?

