A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin

A Dance With DragonsPublished: 2011

Genre: epic fantasy

Length: 1040 pages

Setting: the worlds surrounding Westeros, concurrent with events occurring in A Feast For Crows (read my review here).

Interest: It’s the fifth (and currently last) book in the very awesome Song of Ice and Fire series.

Summary: We focus on the other half of the world of Westeros that wasn’t covered in A Feast For Crows, sometimes seeing events from a different character. Jon Snow has decided to allow the wildlings to settle beyond the wall, which gets him killed (we think). Tyrion is smuggled to Pentos and then sent on to Meereen to be a dragon advisor to Danaerys. He’s captured by slavers on the way to Meereen, but manages to escape during the seige. Danaerys is trying to hold Meereen and she decides the best way to do that is to marry. On her wedding day, her dragon Drogon appears and she flies off on him. We also find out Aegon Targaryen, who has been raised to be the ideal prince, is on his way to meet Danearys.

Final thoughts: This really is a companion book to A Feast For Crows. I must admit I’m glad I didn’t have to wait years to read it (there’s six years between the publication of the two books. There are certain advantages to coming to a series late). I did enjoy it, although I noticed certain stock phrases appearing every time a specific character was onstage. (Jon Snow: “You know nothing, Jon Snow.” Tyrion: “Where do whores go.”) It got a little annoying and artificial. I’m also noticing the trend of leaving chapters/characters on a major cliffhanger, and then skipping to something else for hundreds of pages. Trust me, we’re going to read your book without the need for cliffhangers. Just tell me if Jon Snow is dead or not (we leave him stabbed, but I won’t believe he’s dead until I see a body being buried or burned). Regardless of some of the shortcomings, I’m still reading the new book as soon as it comes out, and it better not be years in coming!

Title comes from: Danaerys actually got to ride a dragon, and they were much more the focus of the book.

Reading challenges fulfilled: None, since this is a review of a book I read in a previous year.

1 Comment

Filed under Book review

One response to “A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin

  1. I totally agree….I better not have to wait for 10 years before I get to read TWoW!! 🙂

What do you think?

