What I Will Be Reading #1

There’s a book meme called It’s Monday! What Are You Reading! run by Book Journey that I’ve heard about and never managed to participate in. Mostly it’s because you’ll find out what I’m reading since I review all of my books on this blog soon after I finish them. So, I decided to slightly alter the meme and turn it into a weekly “What I’m Going To Be Reading!” I’ll post books I’ve added to my reading list, including why I put them on the list. Maybe this way I’ll remember why I put the book on my list when I finally get around to reading it.

So, here’s the inaugural post.

One-Second-After-197x300I added three books to my reading list this week. One came from a post on apocalyptic fiction from the garden blogger Attainable Sustainable. She had a couple of suggestions on her post. I’ve read The Road and the first couple books she discussed were YA, but the last one, One Second After by William R. Forstchen, sounded intriguing.

The Simple Homeschool blog had a post on YA historical fiction this week. I’m always on the lookout for good books to use for my kids, so I checked out her suggestions closely. While there were many great books, I only put two on my to read list. I added Heart of a Samurai heartby Margi Preus as a possible book for Mr. Curiosity. It’s based on a true story and seemed adventurous enough to grab his attention. I also added verityCode Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. This one is meant for an older age group. I’ve seen it reviewed a couple of places and it would be a great addition to my knowledge on World War II.

So, what are you planning to read?

Leave a comment

Filed under Library books

What do you think?

